Uncategorized
Comments 3

Running Pains; the Next Step

Last week I shared my story about my leg injury and now I have some answers.

Recap Running Pains: After 7 months of reoccurring pain from an ankle sprain and peroneal tendon strain at a San Francisco half marathon, a jump off a swing sent me to the couch with a bag full of ice. However, not keeping off my injury really did the damage.

Last week, I left the doctors office with a diagnosis: a strained peroneal tendon and torn Gastrocnemius muscle. The bruising and swelling around my ankle is not a sprain but drainage from a calf tear. So at least now I know where to ice my leg, not on the bruises, but right at the source of the tear. I’ll have to keep off of it for 2-4 weeks and my Groupons for gym studios will have to wait (including the rock climbing adventure —bummer)!

Gastrocnemius muscle

Gastrocnemius muscle (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

With two physical therapy sessions under my belt, I know a lot more than from my general doctor. Both my peroneal tendon and an inner-foot stabilizing tendon were torn. Makes sense since these are the tendons that steady the ankle. Remember my run in hilly San Francisco and my attempt to hop off a swing? Those tendons  were doing their best to keep my ankle in line from all the twisting commotion.

The mucous sheaths of the tendons around the a...

Tendons around the ankle. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I recently noticed a lot of pain in the arch of my foot. My physical therapist found a knot there and she said we’ll have to wait to see if it heals, but it could be the tendon fibers (from the plantar fascia) bundled-up from a tear or a cyst. She doesn’t want to worry me with “what ifs” until she knows. At this time a MRI would’ve been very helpful!

All I can say is WOW. During every physical therapy session, I lie down on a table where I am hooked up to electrodes and an ice brace for 15 minutes. For those 15 minutes I stare up at the ceiling and for 15 minutes I think, “How on earth did I, a 25-year-old, get here? From such a simple thing as jumping off a swing?” Well that’s not entirly it. It’s been a series of aggravation to my foot/leg and making no time to heal. But, I also lie there and think how it could have been worse, and that now I recognize the signs and am taking care of it. I think that counts for something!

3 Comments

  1. I was 16 when I had my first MRI because of patellar tendonitis. For several months, I tried to ignore the pain and just went on with my daily running routine and 3x-a-week tennis game. I didn’t know that it will make my injury worst. I thought that it’ll get better but it didn’t. I asked for recommended sports ortho and they recommended me Dr Grossman (Stem MD), which I had stem cell treatment with. The therapy was scheduled for 5 weeks and it was successful. One of my tennis buddies said that it was good thing that I found the right treatment for me, coz he had rotator cuff issues and physical therapy didn’t work for him. Anyways, I too, couldn’t explain how I got the injury… probably it was because of my shoes, or perhaps, I made a wrong move… I don’t know… The good thing is that I don’t feel the pain anymore and I will just try to be more careful coz I don’t wanna suffer from joint pains anymore… well, not a muscle pain too please…. I hope you get better and stay positive!

    • That’s interesting to know that stem cell treatment is an alternative if physical therapy doesn’t work (of course depending on the injury). Glad to hear that it worked for you. I think continuous strain can go unnoticed until it reaches unbearable pain. Maybe next time I can recognize the first signs of this kind of strain and bypass the worst. Thanks for sharing and your support!

  2. Pingback: Sprain vs. Strain: What’s Causing Your Pain? | Little Things That Make A Big Difference

Leave a Reply

