Gluten Free
Leave a Comment

My Favorite Gluten-Free Flour

photo credit: Veganbaking.net via photopin cc

Just because you’re gluten-free, doesn’t mean you don’t deserve a hot waffle, right off the griddle. When I went gluten-free, I thought it meant “bye-bye” to everything I enjoyed…but I was wrong. I’m not going to lie and say it didn’t take some research. Why it even included bouts of pouting, watching my sister carve her Belgian waffle into bite-sized forkfuls. But my story has a happy ending—it ends with a delicious, “the best I’ve ever had” (quoted by my non, gluten-free sister) waffle. Despite my pouts and foot stomping, my sister was kind, dried my tears and sent me a blog post from Minimalist Baker. If you haven’t explored the Minimalist Baker blog, well then, you must. If the horde-full of gluten-free ingredients are impeding on your baking style, you’re not alone. With all of the xanthem-“what’s?”and guar gums, which sound more like something you scrape off the bottom of your shoe, shopping for gluten-free, all purpose flours seems daunting. Luckily for you, because my sister is so kind, I will pay-it-forward and share my little secret with you. Before we make the gluten-free waffles (I will share that with you Friday—sneak peek below), it’s crucial to start with the right flour. Of course everyone is different, and you’ll discover what works best for you, but here is what I know to be my very own life-saving, all purpose, flour mix.

Note, if you don’t feel great after gluten-free cookies that are store bought or made from a pre-mixed GF, all purpose four, it’s because of all the gums and starches that aren’t easy to digest. The reason I picked quinoa, coconut and white rice flours is because they are foods that I eat often, therefore my body can digest them better.  Try flours that you enjoy eating. Just know that all fours have different baking densities so it may take a couple several tries! Have fun experimenting. I use arrowroot starch because I find it better to digest compared to tapioca. Also, instead of using binding ingredients such as xantham gum or guar gum, I use ground flax meal. You should combine the flax with boiling water to create a gooey paste.

Recipe
Yields about 4 C | Prep time – 15 min.

1 1/3 C Quinoa flour
1/2 C Coconut flour
1 1/4 C White rice flour
1 1/4 C Arrowroot starch
Ground flax + hot water

Mix ingredients together. You can use cup for cup of GF flour for each cup of all purpose flour. Boil water and add double the amount of water to the flax meal. Substitute the amount listed for xantham gum, guar gum, agar gum, or other binders in the recipe you’re following. If the recipe doesn’t call for gums, use 1 T of flax meal and 2 T of hot water for the batch. Now you’re all set for waffles…see you back here Friday for this amazing recipe by Minimalist Baker!

Leave a Reply

