Brunch, Gluten Free
Comments 4

Minimalist Baker’s Gluten-Free Waffles

Now that you’ve experimented with gluten-free flour from my last post, it’s time to put it to the test. I made these waffles when I went home to visit my dad. There’s something about being home and baking for breakfast—makes me want to stay in my PJs all day and sip tea while I watch Giada Delorentis making creamy polenta or Bobby Flay throwing down a spicy dish. The key to a perfect waffle is the crisp crust coving the soft bread inside. The key is coconut oil. You’ll need to coat your waffle maker with coconut oil, and a lot of it. That’s how you’re going to get the *crisp*.

I grabbed this recipe from the blog, Minimalist Baker. I was so impressed with this recipe that I couldn’t stop thinking about it all day. Usually my gluten-free attempts turn out to be rock cookies or something that tastes like a bland flour ball. There’s an infamous cookie recipe that goes with that, but that’s another story… These Minimalist Baker waffles are perfection. As my sister would say, “These are the best waffles I’ve ever had!” And that’s coming from a non-gluten-free baker who can throw down a winning bake-off. My friends, we have ourselves a winner!

origin_2801020194

photo credit: cafemama via photopin cc

What makes these waffles unique is the use of oats and a list of simple ingredients, not to mention the gluten-free flour mix that I talked about this week. You’ll need a waffle iron, your batter mix, and brush to coat the coconut oil on the waffle iron.

Recipe

1. Gluten-free, all purpose flour mix + Ground flax meal
2. Minimalist Baker’s 7 Ingredient Vegan Gluten Free Waffles

Note: The recipe has some optional ingredients listed. I used olive oil, coconut oil to coat the high-heat griddle, and maple syrup. I then topped the waffles with colorful raspberries and blueberries. Perhaps next time these waffles can be my dessert. Next time, chocolate chips and a scoop of coconut ice cream on top.

4 Comments

Leave a Reply

